Particle Physics Masterclass Programme

Particle Physics Masterclasses are one day events hosted by Particle Physics groups at Universities and Laboratories across the country. They are aimed at students taking particle physics modules at AS or A level, but are open to any student interested in studying particle physics. Some Universities also run days specifically for GCSE students.

The different masterclasses include a selection of the following activities, run by particle physicists: lectures, hands-on workshops, computer sessions, laboratory tours, live video chats with CERN and international masterclasses.

Every masterclass is slightly different, but all provide excellent support for particle physics in the curriculum and deliver a fascinating insight into this exciting field of physics!

Dates for the 2018 calendar year will appear here as they are set.

Many of the Particle Physics Masterclasses are oversubscribed. Teachers who would like their students to participate should contact the appropriate person as soon as possible.

Venue Date(s) Contact Details
2018
Birmingham University Thu 1 March 2018
Bristol University Thu 12 April 2018
Cambridge University Tue 20 & Wed 21 March 2018
Daresbury Laboratory Tue 6 - Thu 8 March 2018
Durham University Thu 22 March 2018
Glasgow University Tue 12 June 2018
Imperial College London Mon 26 March 2018
Lancaster University Wed 9 May 2018
Manchester University Wed 14 March 2018
Nottingham University TBC (October 2018)
Oxford University TBC
Plymouth University Thu 1 March 2018
Queen Mary University of London Mon 19 & Wed 21 February 2018
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory Tue 13 - Fri 16 March 2018
Royal Holloway University of London TBC
Southampton University Wed 21 March 2018
Sussex University TBC
Swansea University Mon 26 March & Mon 2 July 2018
University College London Wed 28 March 2018
Warwick University TBC

Particle Physics for you

Science and Technology Facilities Council Switchboard: 01793 442000