Ernest Rutherford Fellowship

The Ernest Rutherford Fellowships will enable early career researchers with clear leadership potential to establish a strong, independent research programme. They will encourage talented researchers in UK universities to remain in the country and at the same time attract outstanding overseas researchers to the UK.

An analysis of Fellows who have completed their Fellowship since 2006, disclosed all Fellows were employed and held permanent jobs. Further details showing the key benefits of a Fellowship can be found in the analysis of questionnaires.

Statement of Expectations for Fellows

Research Councils UK (RCUK) has published its Statement of Expectations for Fellows, which sets out common principles for all Research Council-funded fellows.

Key facts

Each Fellowship will last for five years, with up to 12 being offered annually. The aim is to support future scientific leaders to establish a strong, independent research programme.

Ernest Rutherford Fellowships are intended for early career researchers who do not have an academic position.

Applicants must have a PhD and a minimum of five years’ research experience from the start of the postgraduate programme leading to the award of a PhD and 1 September 2017 with, normally, a minimum of two years’ postdoctoral experience.

The Ernest Rutherford Grant Funding scheme is no longer available for successful fellowship applicants.

We receive in the order of 150 ERF proposals each year from applicants with various levels of post-doctoral experience. The tables below illustrate the diversity of experience from our applicants.

Ernest Rutherford Fellowships years of Post Doc experience - applicants

Call Post-Doctoral Experience Average
  1 to 3yrs 4 to 6yrs 7 to 9yrs 10yrs + per call
ERF 2011 20 6 44 16 6
ERF 2012 23 83 47 17 6
ERF 2013 9 76 51 14 6
ERF 2014 16 81 46 23 7

Ernest Rutherford Fellowships years of Post Doc experience - awarded

Call Post-Doctoral Experience Average
  1 to 3yrs 4 to 6yrs 7 to 9yrs 10yrs + per call
ERF 2011 3 9 3 1 6
ERF 2012 2 4 6 2 6
ERF 2013 2 1 7 2 7
ERF 2014 2 7 1 2 6

How to apply

Closing date for applications: 4:00 pm Thursday 22 September 2016

You are advised to contact your proposed host department as early as possible and certainly well ahead of the deadline for submission of applications. Departments may have internal processes to select which candidates to support and the timetables for these vary.

Applications are encouraged from those seeking to resume a research career, following a period of absence from active research. Details can be found on our Returner Fellowships web page.

To apply for an Ernest Rutherford Fellowship you are strongly advised to read the guidance notes. These contain the rules and regulations for the scheme and advise on completing the online application form in Je-S.


Decisions on who to invite for interview will be made mid/late January 2017.

Interviews will be held mid February 2017.

Organisational Structure

Dr Matthew Auger University of Cambridge
Dr Simon Badger University of Edinburgh
Dr Sarah Badman Lancaster University
Dr Manda Banerji University of Cambridge
Dr Mikhail Bashkanov University of Edinburgh
Dr Michael Brown The University of Manchester
Dr Erminia Calabrese University of Oxford
Dr Bradley Cheal University of Liverpool
Dr Timothy Clifton Queen Mary, University of London
Dr Greig Cowan University of Edinburgh
Dr Timothy Davis Cardiff University
Dr Oscar Dias University of Southampton
Dr Simon Dye University of Nottingham
Dr Jay Farihi University College London
Dr Robert Fear University of Southampton
Dr Claire Foullon University of Exeter
Dr Poshak Gandhi University of Southampton
Dr Marco Gersabeck The University of Manchester
Dr Scott Gregory University of St Andrews
Dr Thomas Greve University College London
Dr Roxanne Guenette University of Oxford
Dr Jan Gutowski University of Surrey
Dr Nina Hatch University of Nottingham
Dr Andrew Hillier University of Cambridge
Dr Robert Izzard University of Cambridge
Dr Caitriona Jackman University of Southampton
Dr David Jess Queen’s University of Belfast
Dr Izaskun Jimenez-Serra University College London
Dr Benjamin Joachimi University College London
Dr Andreas Korn University College London
Dr Stefan Kraus University of Exeter
Dr Claudia Lederer University of Edinburgh
Dr Gavin Lotay University of Surrey
Dr Kate Maguire Queen’s University of Belfast
Dr Mikako Matsuura Cardiff University
Dr Ian McCarthy Liverpool John Moores University
Dr Haixing Miao University of Birmingham
Dr Matthew Middleton University of Cambridge
Dr Alexander Mitov University of Cambridge
Dr Jonathan Nichols University of Leicester
Dr Christopher Nixon University of Leicester
Dr Padelis Papadopoulos Cardiff University
Dr Darren Price The University of Manchester
Dr Arnau Rios Huguet University of Surrey
Dr Juan Rojo University of Oxford
Dr Nic Ross University of Edinburgh
Dr Giuseppe Ruggiero University of Liverpool
Dr Andreas Schmitt University of Southampton
Dr Pat Scott Imperial College London
Dr Antonino Sergi University of Birmingham
Dr Colin Snodgrass Open University
Dr Rita Tojeiro University of St Andrews
Dr Antonin Vacheret University of Oxford
Dr John Veitch University of Birmingham
Dr Nicholas Wright Keele University



Fellowships and general enquiries

Tel: +44 (0)1793 413 195

Science and Technology Facilities Council Switchboard: 01793 442000