Our Structure

STFC Council

The Council, formed in April 2007, is the governing body and its members are appointed by the Minister for Universities and Science. A number of advisory committees, including Science Board, provide advice to Council and the executive.

The Chief Executive

STFC's Chief Executive, Dr Brian Bowsher provides overall leadership and is responsible for the management and performance of STFC.

He chairs Executive Board and is responsible for setting STFC's direction and winning the support of external stakeholders for the vision of STFC as an enabler of world-class science with social and economic impact. He is STFC's Accounting Officer.

Our Directorates

Our staff are organised in seven directorates, plus the Chief Executive’s Office:

Grahame Blair is the Executive Director of Programmes.

The Programmes Directorate (PD) is responsible for the STFC's science and technology strategy, science operations and planning (including the STFC's processes for peer review), as well as STFC's programmes in education, training and public outreach. The PD has one other Director:

Grahame is supported in running the directorate by:

Our National Laboratories Directorate is led by Dr Andrew Taylor. The National Laboratories provide research facilities and capabilities that, because of their scale, complexity, strategic character or cost, are appropriately operated as a national research resource.

These facilities and capabilities include access for external users to neutron scattering and light source facilities, laser facilities, accelerator research facilities and high performance computing. They also include national technical capabilities in nuclear physics, particle physics, astronomy, accelerator science, instrumentation, and space technology.

The primary mission of the laboratories is to facilitate national research capability, and they should therefore complement and collaborate with the university research base.

Organisational Structure

National Laboratories consists of:

Neil Phimister Executive Director Finance is acting Executive Director for Corporate Services until the recruitment exercise for this role is complete (Summer 2017).

It is responsible for the STFC’s administrative information systems and technology, estates management operations and support services, health, safety and environment, and security.

The Science and Technology Facilities Council is an independent, non-departmental public body of the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy (BEIS).

As such, the majority of our funding is public money from BEIS, allocated through the Comprehensive Spending Review.

For 2013-14, STFC's annual budget is £489 million

STFC receives additional funding from a variety of other sources, including the other Research Councils, the European Space Agency, the European Commission and industry.

Finance Directorate

The finance directorate is led by Executive Director Neil Phimister.

It is responsible for STFC's overall budgeting and associated financial planning and for the financial and management accounting processes within the Council.

Innovations Directorate

Dr Tim Bestwick is the Executive Director, Innovations.

The Innovations Directorate is responsible for delivering and developing the effective transfer of knowledge between the STFC, universities, industries and other organisations.

It is also responsible for developing strategies and co-ordinating implementation plans for increasing the economic impact of the STFC’s investments in universities, its own facilities and the international laboratories.

The Executive Director is Dr Sharon Cosgrove, tel: +44 (0)1793 444 370

Strategic Communications

The Strategic Communications team is headed by Terry O'Connor

It is responsible for developing and implementing a strong and effective communication strategy and programme, which encompasses STFC’s activities in marketing communications, public affairs, media relations, events management, corporate web services, corporate publications and internal communication.

Research and Innovation Strategy

The team is headed by Janet Seed

Stakeholder and International Relations

The team is headed by Catherine Ewart

Corporate Strategy and Impact

The team is headed by Philip Amison (from 8 June)

Diana Chaloner is the Executive Director, HR.

The HR Directorate is responsible for delivering and developing people management practices that will support STFC to achieve its vision and strategic goals.

STFC’s HR structure allows HR to operate at a strategic level whilst also providing a solid base of day-to-day operational support. Business Partners work with Departments to understand their local strategy and challenges and how people management practices can help achieve their aims. HR Centres of Expertise provide specific competence and expertise that help shape the people management practice across STFC; Talent and Skills, Reward and Employee Relations, Organisation Development. The Operations and Systems team provide managers with the tools, systems and support in managing, motivating and developing their staff. This team includes HR Advisors and HR Assistants who provide the day-to-day operational support that is the backbone of the HR department’s service. The team interfaces with the UK Shared Business Services Ltd (UK SBS) who are responsible for HR transactional activity.

STFC's Chief Executive - Dr Brian Bowsher.

The Chief Executive’s Office is in Polaris House, Swindon

The Chief Executive is supported by an Executive Support Team which also provides support to our Chair and secretariat support to the Executive Board and the STFC Council.

Executive Support Team

Zena Davis - Executive Team and Council Secretariat Manager

Janice Masone - Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive (Janice is the point of contact for the Chief Executive’s diary and correspondence/invitations)

Ms Nicola Harrison - Council Secretariat Administrator

Science and Technology Facilities Council Switchboard: 01793 442000